Hospitality

Never visit a German unannounced, guidebooks to Germany say. First, I wanted to protest.

The way I grew up, everybody walked into our house when they wanted to. Everybody was welcome and everybody got something to eat. “Fünf sind geladen, zehn sind gekommen. Schütt Wasser in die Suppe, heiß alle herzlich willkommen” runs a German saying: “When you invite five and ten people come, don´t worry. Add water to your soup and welcome everyone with your heart”. This is the German hospitality I wanted to defend.

Till my neighbour rang the bell the other day – unannounced. I found myself standing in the doorframe, not moving one inch. I like her, but I tried to shield her view from  the mess my rooms are in.

I tell everybody that I´m a lousy housewife – but nobody believes me. No wonder, as I don´t allow anybody to see the state my surroundings normally are in. Of course I would add water to the soup and say a hearty welcome to any unannounced visitor–if they managed to pass my doorstep.

Last year I tried to introduce a kind of drop-by-if you-have time-event: a jour fixe. Every Friday night I opened the door to anybody who wanted to come – unannounced. On Friday afternoons, I cleaned the bathroom, the kitchen, the living room. I forced my son to lay the table. I sent out my husband to buy a better wine. I cooked till the kitchen couldn´t hold the food.

Nobody came.

Germans don´t like ambiguous situations. When I invited our friends saying: you are welcome every Friday night to drop by unannounced,  everybody was pleased: “That´s a good idea! No more complicated arrangements anymore, we just drop in”. Then, on Fridays, they started to worry: “Maybe Truegerman won´t be in this Friday. Or maybe there are already too much people. Did she really mean what she said?”.

Of course I meant it – but nobody believed me.

Tomorrow this won´t happen again. I invited, officially, one month ago and sent out a reminder one week ago. I asked a neighbour to help me with the cleaning last weekend: the floors sparkle, the windows let in the sun.

It took her five hours to do two rooms.

Now my friends can come.

They will find everything perfectly prepared. Of course, they will think: “If this is the state the rooms of a lousy housewife are in, German standards must be extremely high.”

This is the way myths are born.

They will live as long as nobody visits unannounced.

Sometimes it is good to act according to guidebooks.

But this is another story.

@Truegerman

7 Comments

Filed under Germany, typical german, World

7 responses to “Hospitality

  1. Does this mean we had our first dinner party in our brand spanking new for us house?

  2. I helped Francesca to move into her new house, but the dinner party was at my place, a rather run down flat in the inner City of Frankfurt.

    Francescas house is lovely, spacious, well designed. My rooms are nice to0 but with less space. The children had to eat on the balcony, because there wasn´t enough room inside. Luckily it stopped to rain when dinner time came.

  3. I want new house pictures!!!!

    • Oh dear, it´s still total chaos… but I´ll risk. I´ll be gone for a few days. Remind if I don´t comply, after I get back… . Am enjoying your garden posts immensely. I hoped I´d have garden to boast of this year, but with all the stuff going on I will have to postpone to Fall to get it ready (The tomatoes I just stuck in the best corner are taking excellent care of themselves and I will have a small but delicious harvest – well done garden!).

  4. Hello my name its Stojan from Macedonia ,am writing this later about h mu friend Saso hi get sickness from leukemia and a need 80 000 euros to bi operated in Germany, but hi don’t have this money ,hi have 23 and him parents can provide his money because his parents are very poor.Hi thanks of name of his parents. because He is their greatest happiness in in the live. God bless if can help with a partial amount of money .thanks.tel oo389 78698058

  5. wöchentliche Erinnerung bitte

Leave a Reply

